Home - NEWS - PDP Overtakes APC As Rivers Rerun Election Enters Day 4

PDP Overtakes APC As Rivers Rerun Election Enters Day 4

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is ahead of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the collation of results in the Rivers state legislative rerun election extends to day 4.

A total of 21 seats were contested in the election, 3 in the senate, 8 at the House of Representatives, and 10 at the state house of assembly.

12 results so far have been announced, with the PDP taking 7, leaving its opponent with 5.

All the senatorial election results have been declared. PDP won 2 seats, while APC has one. Of the 2 results declared in the house of reps, PDP has 3, and APC 2.

There is a tie at the state house of assembly, where four results have been announced. Both parties have two each.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has blamed the delay in declaration of results of widespread violence.

Mustapha Lecky, the INEC’s national commissioner in charge of south-south, disclosed this at a press conference in Port Harcourt, the state capital.

Below is a table showing how the parties stand in the rerun election.


REMARK              PARTY                   LGA                                        VOTES

Winner                 PDP        Rivers East senatorial district       93,098

Winner                 PDP        Rivers west senatorial district     107,166

APC        Rivers East senatorial district       34,193

Winner                 APC        Rivers South East senatorial district 125,938

PDP        Rivers South East senatorial district 25,394

APC        Rivers west senatorial district     48,898

                                          HOUSE OF REPS

REMARKS            PARTY   CONSTITUENCY                                                                VOTES

Winner                      PDP        Okrika Ogu/Bolo federal constituency                    11,668

APC        Okrika Ogu/Bolo federal constituency                    5,995

Winner                     APC        Khana/Gokana federal constituency                       68,219

PDP        Khana/Gokana federal constituency                       20,329

Winner                    APC        Tai/Oyigbo/Eleme federal constituency                 48,760

PDP        Tai/Oyigbo/Eleme federal constituency                 11,737

Winner                    PDP        Asari-Toru/Akuku-Toru federal constituency      39,444

APC        Andoni/Opobo Nkoro federal constituency         15,434

Winner                    PDP        Andoni/Opobo Nkoro federal constituency         16, 234

APC        Asari-Toru/Akuku-Toru federal constituency      8,817

                            STATE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

REMARKS            PARTY   CONSTITUENCY                                VOTES

PDP        Khana state constituency 2          4,000

Winner                        APC        Khana state constituency 2          15,000

Winner                       PDP        Bonny state constituency             6,610

APC        Bonny state constituency             2,330

Winner                       APC        Gokana state constituency          24,624

APC        Andoni constituency                      7,367

Winner                      PDP        Andoni constituency                      10,729


Leave a comment

Check Also

Ogun Successor Amosun

Ogun West Will Produce My Successor In 2019 – Amosun

The Governor of Ogun state, Ibikunle Amosun, has declared support for Ogun West Senatorial district …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *