Home - NEWS - Rivers Rerun: APC Leading PDP After Results In 11 Seats
Rivers Rerun

Rivers Rerun: APC Leading PDP After Results In 11 Seats

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is leading in the legislative Rivers rerun election, while there are controversies in areas where the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is performing well.

A total of 21 seats were contested in the election; 3 in the senate, 8 at the House of Representatives and 10 at the state house of assembly.

So far, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the result of 1 senatorial district, 3 federal constituencies, and 5 state constituencies, making 9 total.

Of the 9, TheCable has been able to compile 7 results. PDP has won 2 seats, while its opponent has won the remaining five.

Okwulehie Ikechukwu, the returning officer in Okrika Ogu/Bolo federal constituency declared Gogo Tamuno of the PDP winner, saying he polled 11,668 votes to defeat Maureen Tamuno of the APC, who secured 5,995 votes.

In Khana/Gokana federal constituency, Maurice Pronen polled 68,219 votes to defeat Dumnamene Dekor, his PDP opponent, who secured 20,329 votes.

With 48,760 votes, Barry Mpigi of the APC defeated Jacobson Nbina of the PDP rival, who had 11,737 votes in Tai/Oyigbo/Eleme federal constituency.

Friday Nkeeh of the APC in Khana state constituency 2 defeated Dinebari Loolo of the PDP. Nkeeh got 15,000 votes, while his opponent polled 4,000 votes.

While in Bonny state constituency, Abinye Pepple of the PDP polled 6,610 votes to defeat APC’s Henry Halliday, who came second with 2330 votes.

READ ALSOThugs Murder Senior Police Officer, Orderly In Rivers

Innocent Barikor of APC with 24,624 votes won Gokana state constituency.

While Magnus Abe of the APC secured 125,938 votes to defeat Olaka Nwogu of the PDP, who secured 25,394 votes in Rivers east senatorial district.

Official results of Rivers West and Rivers East senatorial districts are yet to be released, but results trickling in from the polling units show the PDP leading in the areas.

In Rivers east, results of all but 2 of the 8 local governments, have been declared, with PDP winning.

On Sunday (5:25am) when collation was suspended, George Sekibo of the PDP was leading Andrew Uchendu of APC by 49,937 votes. While Sekibo polled a total of 77,691 votes, Uchendu managed to secure 27,754.

The returning officer for Rivers east, Oji Ekumankama could not explain the delay in the announcement.

He initially said the officials on the field were bringing the results of Emouha and Ikwerre local governments; however, after hours of fruitless wait, some INEC officials left.

Ekumankama had told TheCable that he would wait until the results were brought.

“I am very disturbed at the moment,” he had said.

“We just have to announce a winner. Even if everyone leaves, I will still remain here. As the returning officer, I have nowhere to go until the result is announced.

“I know that something is wrong somewhere, but this is our country; we will all do our best to develop it.”

A “powerful politician” was accused of hijacking the result of Ikwerre, where Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation and Nyesom Wike, governor of the state hail from.

While Amaechi, who spoke through David Iyiofor, his media aide, denied the report, Wike could not be reached for comments.

Simeon Nwakaudu, his spokesman, did not respond to TheCable’s email.

Wike has accused INEC of working for the APC. He said the PDP had won in Rivers East and West based on results from polling units.

He also called on INEC to immediately release the results of Andoni/Opobo-Nkoro federal constituency and Andoni state constituency, which he claimed the PDP had won.

However, voting was extended to Monday in Akuku-Toru local government as a result of violence.

Culled From: TheCable


Leave a comment

Check Also

Ogun Successor Amosun

Ogun West Will Produce My Successor In 2019 – Amosun

The Governor of Ogun state, Ibikunle Amosun, has declared support for Ogun West Senatorial district …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *